Who loves Saturdays?

Some days are better than others. And as I made the long journey between my bedroom door and my bed tonight, realising it’s “teenager-messy” for the first time since I moved in and unpacked everything (and by “I” I mean my Mum, of course), I also realised today was not one of those better days.

With Mum in and out of Hospital with her revolting eyes and swollen, painful face (yes, viral conjunctivitis and cellulitis are a sexy mix) it’s fallen to me to take over her role as “Mother” for the last two days. Essentially, I really don’t mind. My Mum has been so utterly supportive of me (particularly this year, when I’ve needed her more than ever) that I’ll do anything to repay her and make sure she has the time to get better quickly (well, the sooner she recovers, the sooner she can be Mummy again, eh!?). Unfortunately, the kids, the Dog and the whole sodding Universe don’t agree. Great, thanks Universe, love you too (!).

I’m pretty obsessed with alarms at the moment (I’ve always had an OCD about time, so I guess it’s a natural progression… No?) so when I set one for my Mother last night to make sure she got to her Hospital appointment on time, I also had to set one of my own to make sure that I got up on time… To make sure that her alarm went off… To make sure that she got up on time (see, perfectly logical and rational thought process, for a neurotic).

So, all was well and everyone in the household was up and about by 8.45am. On a Saturday. This is where the Mardy-arse, “I bloody hate everything that has ever existed in the world”, “get me a coffee before I hurt someone” attitude began, I think. Yes. It’s a Saturday. It’s 8.45am. All I have to look forward to today is a day of housework, X Factor and maybe some YouTube surfing before flicking through the last night, sex-filled, pointless channels and surrendering to my bed; and I’m up as early as 8.45am to do it? Hmm… Wonderful (!).

I wouldn’t have minded if my seven year old sister hadn’t have greeted me with a lollipop in her mouth and the words “you like Barbie Island Princess, don’t you? I’ll put it on just for you” and then refused to have a healthy breakfast (are Coco Pops healthier than a lollipop?) because “Mummy said I’m allowed whatever I want”. My urge to shout back “well, I’m 17 years older than you so I’m old enough to be your Mum” didn’t quite seem appropriate. This time.

Just imagine… I’ve crawled downstairs at 8.45am on a miserable Saturday morning, seen my Mum off to the hospital, I’ve got some obnoxious and over stimulating, badly computer-animated children’s film blasting out at me at 1000 decibels and I’m being told by a disobedient seven year old, young enough to be my own daughter, that my word has no place against my Mother’s. Then… Then the Dog makes an appearance and I immediately feel a bubble of sick try and force it’s way up my gullet (!). Sorry, “SADIE! OFF!”, but you know you’re not exactly my best friend. Mind you, that’s probably why she does the things she does (you laugh now, but I’ll soon prove her and the Aliens *are* conspiring against me, you wait!).

To be fair, because my legs, back, bum, pelvis and anything from the waist down have been rendered almost completely useless by disabled pregnancy (mm… Fun!), the Dog hadn’t been for a walk in two days. However, in my Mardy-arse, “hurt-everything” state of mind, this did not justify the fact that I spent the entire of my Saturday doing the following, just because of the sister or the Dog, and mostly due to a combination of both:

A) telling my sister not to wind the Dog up

B) shouting at my sister not to wind the Dog up

C) telling the Dog not to hump my sister

D) shouting at the Dog not to hump my sister because she’s been winding the Dog up

E) dragging the Dog out into the garden because she’s been trying to destroy everything in the house that is mine and smells like me

F) dragging the Dog in from the garden because she’s been destroying everything out there that smells like my sister, the one who winds her up and who she wants to hump all the time, and crying and barking and whinging to come in

G) crying

My favourite moment of the day? I got out of the shower and my phone was ringing. It was my Mum’s best friend calling to talk about my Mum. My bedroom door was wide open, I was stark naked, phone in one hand, pants in the other, Elsie (my sister) came running up the stairs: “the postman needs you to sign something”… Instant neuro-meltdown.

Moral of the story? Avoid kids and pets. Correction. Avoid my sister and our wonderful, loving Dog (!).

20121111-000224.jpg

47 thoughts on “Who loves Saturdays?

      • Lol. No, I do not. Don’t feel bad if you lose your patience, let’s remember we are humans therefore we will make mistakes. This may sound weird, but I apologize to Alex, my dog, whenever I realize that I was inpatient with her:)

      • Ha. That’s not weird, that’s quite sweet. I do that same with my pet Rats. Sadie is a lovely dog but she’s just a bit too energetic and stubborn for me right now. It takes me about 10 minutes to get out of my chair, let alone chase her round the garden to rescue whatever valuable object she’s stolen to destroy. Daily. Makes me miss our old dog – a Golden Retriever!

      • Alex used to be a hyperactive dog, but as she aged she changed and right now I can honestly say that I am happy to have her in my life, but there were times when she really frustrated me bc of her boundless energy.

      • Yes, that is my hyperactive girl. She is 10 1/2 years old. For the first couple of years, I had to bike in order for her to run twice a week because if I did not she’d drive me crazy at home. Now I get her to run once in a while since she seems to be happy with her walks, but let’s remember she is a senior doggie:)

  1. Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your weblog. You have some really great posts and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to
    write some content for your blog in exchange for a
    link back to mine. Please shoot me an e-mail if interested.
    Many thanks!

  2. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this
    blog. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard
    to get that “perfect balance” between usability and appearance.
    I must say you have done a excellent job with this. In addition, the blog loads super fast
    for me on Safari. Superb Blog!

  3. I blog frequently and I genuinely appreciate your information.
    This article has truly peaked my interest. I’m
    going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new details
    about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  4. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot approximately this, like you wrote the
    guide in it or something. I feel that you can do with a few % to drive the message house a little bit, however instead of
    that, this is magnificent blog. A fantastic read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

  5. Terrific article! This is the type of info that are meant to be shared across the net.
    Shame on Google for no longer positioning this publish higher!
    Come on over and discuss with my website . Thanks =)

  6. Greetings, I do believe your website may be having internet browser compatibility issues.
    When I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine but when
    opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues.
    I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up! Besides that, fantastic site!

  7. Hi there terrific website! Does running a blog like this take a massive amount work?
    I have no expertise in coding however I had been hoping to start my
    own blog soon. Anyways, should you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I know this is off topic however I simply had to ask.
    Many thanks!

  8. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.

    Do you have any points for first-time blog writers?
    I’d really appreciate it.

  9. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and
    wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.

    After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again
    soon!

  10. Hi there, I discovered your site via Google even
    as looking for a similar matter, your website came up, it appears to be like great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply became aware of your blog thru
    Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m going to be careful for brussels.
    I will be grateful in the event you continue this in
    future. Many folks will be benefited out of your writing.

    Cheers!

  11. Hi, I think your website might be having browser compatibility problems.
    When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine however,
    if opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Aside from that, excellent blog!

  12. Somebody necessarily assist to make critically posts I would state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and to this point?
    I surprised with the research you made to create this particular post incredible.
    Excellent job!

  13. Today, I went to the beach front with my kids. I found
    a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to
    her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  14. First of all I would like to say superb blog!

    I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing.
    I have had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the
    first 10 to 15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out how to
    begin. Any recommendations or hints? Thanks!

  15. Good day! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and
    say I truly enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same
    subjects? Thank you so much!

  16. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?
    My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would truly benefit from a lot of the
    information you present here. Please let me know if this ok
    with you. Regards!

  17. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just
    your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and all.
    Nevertheless think of if you added some great pictures
    or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this blog could undeniably be one of the very best in its niche.
    Awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

