Who’s got a fantasy?

Today, I’d like to share with you a story. It’s a good story (for me) and I think you’ll like it. I’m certainly going to enjoy telling you it…:

Once upon a time, there was a lovely, somewhat geeky but incredibly charming (!), teenage girl (me, obviously) who had an unapologetically massive crush on an established, talented and bloody dreamy actor called Peter Davison (yes, it’s one of these. Have fun).

Having watched all of Peter Davison’s adventures in the TARDIS, most of his Doolittle-esque antics with the Farmyard Creatures (both Great and, indeed, Small) and drooling over his mischievous attempts at succeeding as a big-shot Doctor in a small Island off the coast of the UK (off the Distant Shores), this girl – let’s call her Sophie, just because πŸ˜‰ – heard through the geek-vine that this wondrous actor was finally making a (rare) appearance at a Doctor Who convention. Well, she had to go, lest she miss the opportunity to swoon, blush and, of course, stutter nervously at the man she had admired for so long (about 18 months. A long old time in teenage girl terms, right?)!

So… Off she wobbled, crutches and wheelchair (ripe for the sympathy vote) in hand, and suitably red faced, to the convention that would give her the chance of a life-time.

What was that she saw, perched discreetly on the edge of a sales stool on the day that would change her life forever (you know, the day she would inevitably embarrass herself in front of the established actor she’d watched for so long in awe)? An untouched, unused piece of Peter Davison, Doctor Who, original 1980’s wall paper. Well, it must’ve been fate! Sophie had to have it and get it signed by him in order that she could then show off to all her friends (who, of course, wouldn’t have a clue who he was).

Waiting in the long and, somewhat epic, queue for photographs and autographs with the legend that still is, and planning lots of cool, charming and normal-person type things to say to him for the entire wait, our heroine got to the front, standing with crutches in hand, in front of the beautiful Peter Davison, her mind went blank, her face scarlet and blotchy and her vocal cords shrivelled with nerves, completely unwavering….

All she could say to the intelligent, talented, charismatic actor she’d so long adored was the following:

“I’m your biggest fan, Mr Davison!”

Yeah, cool (!).

However, this was the end result:

20130124-105811.jpg

Notice the shiny, sweaty forehead, coupled with the oh-so-gorgeous blotchy face and neck?

Yeah, good job making the man feel uncomfortable love (!)

Needless to say, they didn’t live happily ever after.

But I did get this SUPER COOL photograph.

Moral of the story? Don’t celebrity-stalk. Someone always ends up red-faced and speechless.

20130124-110327.jpg

6 thoughts on “Who’s got a fantasy?

  1. Hello Sophie,
    What a great story and one that must’ve been repeated time and time again!…I met Peter Davison at a convention last year. I’d taken a break from running a stall at Collectormania and had nipped out to find some tea. On my way back I saw Peter coming towards me with a cup of coffee. There was about three hundred people all milling about and he walked unnoticed between them all! Sadly I suffered a similar fate and all I could say was,’ How did you do that?’
    He chortled and moved on…What an opportunity missed!!

  2. Fantastic story. Sounds just like me. I am one of his biggest fans as well (probably the biggest fan in the United States :). )- watched him in ACG&S and Doctor Who as I grew up in the 80s. I’ve met him 3 times so far. And he’s always been charming. His dry humor can make people think he’s grumpy and nasty but he’s actually funny. That kind of humor is hard to get used to. Nice work getting to meet him!

    • He is wonderful! Such a talented actor and lovely man. So jealous you’ve had the opportunity to meet him 3 times. No enough people appreciate a dry sense of humour these days! X

  3. Aw that was cute. I can totally relate. I was able to meet Peter Davison this past October at NY Comic Con. I’ve only been watching Doctor Who for less than a year now, so he’s the first Doctor I got to meet. And one of my favorites. I wasn’t even going to go to NYCC until I saw he was added as a guest. After that I was on a mission lol. Upon arriving at the con around 11 am the first thing my friend and I did was go to the room where all the autograph signings were. I was really surprised (and a little sad) that there were maybe 2 people in line at Peter’s table. I was all cool until I actually saw him, then everything I wanted to say went right out of my head. πŸ˜› I shakily gave the kid at the table my $30 and then there I was standing in front of one of the Doctor’s most prettiest regenerations *sigh* I finally told him that I had only started watching Doctor Who back in March, and he said “Really? You’ve never seen it before?” and I told him how I had as a child seen Tom Baker on PBS but was extremely confused by it all. I could never tell what was happening and eventually just blew it off as some stupid cheesy British sci-fi show. Then I told him how Tom’s outfit also confused me, because he was so bundled up all the time. Was he sick? Did he have a cold? Was it cold out? Did the BBC not heat their studios? (I really wondered these things as a kid) To my total surprise, Peter Davison let out this biiig laugh and said “I can understand that” And then we shook hands and I quick got a picture with him on my phone and that was that, well until later when I went to get a professional photo with him ;). My hands wouldn’t stop shaking for a good 20 minutes after that initial meeting. My friend and his roommate thought that was very funny. πŸ˜›

    • Haha. Thank you so much! It is incredible how just one man can turn you to jelly. If only ‘real’ (or more available men, should I say) could have the same affect! πŸ˜‰ Even now, as an older man, he’s utterly dreamy. At least you made him smile πŸ™‚ I’m amazed you’ve only been watching it for less than a year. Still, it means that you have 50 years of quality television to catch up on. And that’s very exciting! Thanks for sharing with me. I’m glad I’m not the only one who gets star-struck! X

Leave a Reply

