Who’s grateful?

As I get older, I get more and more cynical about the world around me. I seem to have become a master of double-think as I enter my mid-twenties… I’m really good at both disliking and, simultaneously, finding joy in the most irritating of things; Facebook being a prime example and one I regularly discuss. Naturally.

However, what I have found a lot of joy in very recently (apart from, of course, being a Mummy) is the amount of people now taking an interest in my incessant ramblings and embarrassing stories of geek-dom.

It makes me so happy that something as iconic and amazing as Doctor Who has seemingly brought so many people together.

America, Britain, Australia, even Japan all communicating joyously over a television programme and the fascinating stories that go with it.

I’m so used to feeling frustrated by the world around me, but the fact that all of you are coming together, to read my stories, gives me a flash of calm in an otherwise slightly annoying world.

Doctor Who really has created a multi-coloured, multi-functioning family. Free from discrimination or judgement.

Please keep sharing your Doctor Who stories with me. Every single one puts a smile on this otherwise grumpy, disabled, single Mum’s face.

Doctor Who – doing so much more than it says on the tin!

20130125-162553.jpg

P.s. Was the Peter Davison/David Tennant Children in Need episode a fair few years back anyone else’s favourite thing to have ever been on TV? Haha.

12 thoughts on “Who’s grateful?

  1. I just stumbled on to your blog and I have to say I absolutely am loving reading it! Thank you! I am always grateful for something interesting to read. πŸ™‚ And yes, Peter Davison/David Tennant Children in Need is still my favorite of all the mini things, I think it always will be

  2. That special was most certainly one of the very best things ever! Of course, it did not hurt that Peter Davison is, and always will be, my favorite Doctor, with David Tennant just a hair back in second place!

  3. Just wanted to let you know that a Doctor Who Facebook Fan Page directed me here. Time Crash was among the most touching thing I’ve seen on Who.

  4. Loved Time Crash! I also have to say that Doctor Who has given my family something to enjoy together. I am a mom of 2 girls, 17 and 13, who can never agree on anything let alone what to watch on TV. My youngest got hooked on Doctor Who, then I finally gave in and watched it with her. (I am now something of a 44 year old fangirl with a thing for David Tennant.) My husband started watching and then my oldest caved, with much complaining, and is now a fan. Until this show we rarely could watch TV together but now, family time! I really enjoy your page, by the way. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much. And thank you for sharing! It is incredible how a TV show can bring people together. It’s the same in our house. Things are chaotic… Until Doctor Who comes on! Haha. My half sister was able to recite nearly all Doctor Who ‘monsters’ & ‘aliens’ from the age of 2. I can’t even do that now! X

  5. While Children In Need isn’t one of my favorite episodes, although I did LOVE it, I particularly loved a quote that I think gets overlooked a lot. When Jackson Lake asks where his companions have gone: “They leave. Because they should. Or they find someone else. And some of themβ€” some of them forget me. I suppose in the end… they break my heart.”

    I think this quote is important because it’s one of the few times that the Doctor doesn’t pretend to have everything in control. He isn’t trying to hide or ignore how much pain his loss has caused him. It’s such an honest and deep look into the Doctor, and it’s beautifully tragic.

Leave a Reply

