Who’s a complete and utter emotional wreck, now?

Having watched the Doctor Who twice since it was aired at 7pm GMT on BBC One, I must start by saying this:

IT WAS THE BEST EPISODE OF DOCTOR WHO I HAVE EVER SEEN!

(there will be spoilers in this)

Better than Castoravalva, better than Black Orchid, better than Fathers Day, better than Billie Piper’s final episode with DT…

Seeing The Doctor cry is a rare and therefore touching occurrence. As soon as the Eleventh Doctor cried after Clara told him what she had heard in the “conference call” (amazing scene, by the way), that was me gone for the entire episode. A blubbering, emotional wreck, hanging on the edge of my seat. Attractive.

Seeing Prof. River Song back in the equation was so uplifting, poignant and fulfilling. I do like that character. I wasn’t convinced of her at first – she flirted with The Doctor a lot and my MASSIVE CRUSH on DT clouded my better judgment – basically, I was jealous of her. But, as soon as we found out who she was and how she got there, I fell in love. To see The Doctor finally say goodbye in such a passionate, human way was… Well, I sobbed. And sobbed. And sobbed.

As soon as they all stepped into the Tomb, I knew what was going to happen. My writing skills (of which I’m still learning) told me the inevitable, learnt by the technical applications of good drama. However, this didn’t ruin it for me. I spent the entire time, catching flies, wiping my nose and, as soon as the episode ended, shouting excitedly to my Mother about how that episode was the perfect example or everything I’d been taught in my MA classes. I’m cool.

Lastly… John Hurt at the end of the episode!?!?!?! WOW!! Amazing cliff hanger. I’m sure they could hear my cries of anguish in Brazil. I bet you anything John Hurt was fulfilling a career dream when he took that role. That’s what I love about Doctor Who. It’s aspirational.

Although, I did have to explain the entire of DW to my, lesser experienced, friend after the episode finished…

20130519-144503.jpg

He didn’t get it. I’m reevaluating our friendship.

4 thoughts on “Who’s a complete and utter emotional wreck, now?

  1. I loved the episode too. It was almost like a gift for long-time fans for watching the series for so long, but just as entertaining for new fans as well.

    I think that John Hurt is going to be the “Time War” Doctor, between McGann and Eccleston. There’s still a lot about that incident that we don’t really know. By the way that’s just my personal opinion and not some ‘inside scoop’.

    • I agree. I think John Hurt’s character is The Valeyard. That would be a lovely nod to the original (I was saying so to a friend on Facebook). 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

