Who’s gone and forgotten?

Doctor Who has always been fun, colourful and (dare I say it) rather camp. That’s why people love it!

When I was a teenager I spent the majority of my weekends at Doctor Who conventions; swooning over actors and watching like-minded nerds get together over tales of the first ever episode of Doctor Who they watched as a kid or who their favourite Doctor was and why… Didn’t matter what gender they were or who they were going for. It never should.

Maybe I’m just young and naive but I’ve always been of the opinion that if you love someone it’s because of who they are not what may or may not be socially or politically acceptable in whatever country you come from: “love knows no boundaries” and all that sentimental stuff…

So, I was glad to see that on the 26th June 2013 (a day I’m sure will go down in history) the Defence Of Marriage Act – DOMA – was thrown out as unconstitutional by the Supreme Court.

Go America!

It’s about time. Once interracial marriage was illegal (also something that seems ridiculous to me) and once gay marriage was illegal…

Now they’re a thing of the past and, finally, no-one has to hide or pretend. Just be with whoever they WANT to be with.

I’m a straight, English, white lady living in the 21st Century and I’m nothing but pleased.

It’s just nice.

So… Go celebrate! And, while you’re at it, take a look at this – the cover of The New York Times – it’ll make you smile:

20130630-114301.jpg

I knew it! Haha.

Leave a Reply

