Who’s struggling?

I’m currently watching The Waters of Mars (Tenth Doctor). For anyone who hasn’t seen it (shame on you) it’s one where Ten has to walk away from a fixed point in time and allow the deaths of Humans on an expedition on Mars that goes horribly wrong. Although, of course, he can’t quite do it…

I’ve seen this episode many times. I’m not ashamed to say that every time I do it makes me cry (like a lot of episodes, to be fair). But, I’ll be honest, that’s kind of why I love it.

Writers of the new Doctor Who (and I mean every episode since Eccleston) aren’t afraid to show that the Doctor makes mistakes. I’ve said this before so it isn’t exactly new information, I know, but it’s healthy to see that our Hero, our Saviour in space, is as fallible as we are. He knows what he has to do. He knows what he must do. But he screws up in following his hearts.

It may be oddly sentimental but I like it.

20130804-094942.jpg

Unfortunately my iPhone is a temperamental old cow sometimes so that’s the best I could do, picture-wise. But you get the idea.

Ten will always have my heart.

Leave a Reply

